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2023 - 2024 Records of Clarifications from SYSTC for Judges, Technical 
Officials, Coaches and Skaters 

 
SYNCHRONIZED SKATING #2 
 

GENERAL 

Question #1  
Question about twizzles now that knee action (three turns) has been removed from the Technical Panel errors 
list: if the Skaters execute checked three turns, which by definition are not twizzles, what is the error? 
Answer 
From the Regulations: Twizzle: A travelling turn executed on one foot, with one or more rotations, that quickly 
rotate with a continuous (uninterrupted) action.  
If the twizzle consists of checked three turns, it is not continuous and this is the error. 
If the twizzle has only knee action then the evaluation goes to quality (GOE) and is for the Judges. 
Knee action during a twizzle does not necessarily mean that the twizzle has checked three turns. 
Many times a Feature could be the reason that may create a pulsing rotation that may look like there are 
checked three turns.   
For example: During the Free Leg Extended Feature, there could be an up and down movement of the free 
leg that might seem to create a pulsing rotation.  
The pulsing rotation does not necessarily mean that there is knee action or checked three turns. Only If the 
free leg is lowered too much the Technical Panel will not award the Feature.  
The same pulsing rotation could be present for the Continuous Arm Movement Feature. 
The Technical Panel must evaluate each twizzle for continuous and uninterrupted rotations. 
The Judges must evaluate each twizzle for the quality of the twizzle (GOE) and any Features. 
  
Question #2  
In the Move Element, if a Team use more than ½ of the ice surface, Judges must reduce their GOE by -1.  
If using this deduction, do the Judges only consider the distance while Skaters are in their fm position or the 
whole Team even if some Skaters may still be preparing for the ME and are not in an fm position?  
Answer 
In the past, the Technical Panel penalized for using more than ½ of the ice surface, only when the Skaters 
were in an fm position. If a Team uses more than ½ of the ice surface during any Element for which a GOE 
reduction of -1 has been listed in ISU Communication 2566 (Cr, GL, ME, Pa, SySp), Judges shall apply the 
reduction in GOE only for Skaters performing movements required for the Element. For example, in the Move 
Element, some Skaters may be in an fm position while another part of the Team is still preparing another fm 
by doing crossovers. In such case, the GOE reduction shall only be applied if the Skaters in the fm positions 
use more than ½ of the ice surface.  
 
Question #3 
What is the best way for the Technical Panel to evaluate the Move Element? 
Answer 
It is really up to TS-A to ask for assistance as needed but we suggest the following:  
TS-A – Evaluates the Features and scans the first fm position 
TS-B – Evaluates the fms executed by the Skaters – the first position before Features 
TC – Evaluates the 2nd fm position and regrasp if required – during/after a Feature 
 
Question #4 
The NHE, TwE, and SySp may be skated in any order with a clear difference between the two Elements such 
as; a different Element Shape at the start of the next Element OR a clear connection in-between the two 
Elements.   
Would the following scenario meet the requirements stated above?  
Team ends the SySp in a block configuration, they use some steps and individual movements without a hold, 
while staying in the same block configuration before changing to a different block configuration (four lines with 
four Skaters in each line without a hold) for an NHE. Would this be considered a clear connection? 
Answer 
No, the above scenario would not meet the requirements of a clear connection between the SySp and NHE.  
The Skaters may not be in different configurations of the same Element even if there are connecting 
movements.  A connection must show another Element shape or part of another element (such as connected 
pairs or connected lines) 
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ARTISTIC ELEMENT - LINE 

Question #1 
Four Skaters leave their line(s) and execute an fe in a configuration other than a line.  Is this permitted? 
Answer 
Skaters may leave their line(s) in order to execute the fe without their movement being counted as an 
additional line as long as after the fe they either return to the line OR continue into the next element. 
 

CREATIVE ELEMENT 

Question #1 
Un-sustained Lifts are not permitted in the Creative Element. The Technical Panel Handbook also states on 
page 6 that if a Team executes an Un-sustained Pair or Group Lift, the call should be No Value.  
If Skaters execute an Un-sustained Lift(s) before or after participating in a correctly executed Lift (Pair or 
Group), required for the Element, what should the call be? 
Answer 
If all Skaters participate in a Lift which is accepted for the Element level, the Technical Panel must confirm the 
Element. However, if some Skaters participate only in an Un-sustained Lift(s), the call must be No Value.  
 
Question #1 
When does the Creative Element – Group Lift/Pair Lift end? 
Answer 
The Creative Element ends once the lifted Skater has been held off of the ice for more than three seconds.  
The exit of the lifted position is considered part of the connection into the next Element.  IF the Creative 
Element is the last element of the program then it is not a requirement for the lifted Skater to be set down. 
 

GROUP LIFT ELEMENT 

Question #1 
If a Team is executing a Gliding Pattern and using the Two Supporting Skaters Feature, how long must the 
Team hold the GL with two supporting Skaters?  
Answer 
Two Supporting Skaters: If a Team is using a Gliding Pattern for their GL, there is no time requirement for 
the Feature. The two supporting Skaters must lift the Lifted Skater long enough for the Technical Panel to 
recognize the Feature. If a Team chooses to use a Rotating Pattern for their GL, the Feature must be done 
during a minimum of 360º  rotation. 
 
Question #2 
If choosing the Different types of Lifted Positions Feature: Will two different balancing position be accepted for 
achieving this Feature?  
Answer 
Two different Balancing lifted positions will be counted towards this Feature IF there is a clear difference 
between the two lifted positions.  The same principle will apply if using two different Flexible lifted positions. 
 
Question #3 
Does the U-balancing position as shown in Communication 2563 have to meet both the flexible and balancing 
requirements? 
Answer 
If there are two points of support (hips and feet) then the lift will be considered balancing no matter if the lifted 
Skater shows flexibility with a strong curve in their back or not (applies to other positions than U).  
If there are three points of support with a strong curve back (U-Position) then this will be considered a flexible 
lifted position. 
 
Question #4 
If using only Two Different Types of Lifted Position Feature from Group A, do all lifts have to rotate at the 
same time? 
Answer 
Each lift must rotate a minimum of 360º. 
The GL’s must rotate at the same time with at least part of the required rotation while the Two Different Types 
of Lifted Positions are shown. 
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INTERSECTION ELEMENT and INTERSECTION ELEMENT #2 (Senior Free Skating) 

Question #1 
For Intersection #2 (Senior FS): If Skaters attempt and complete a movement other than a pi rotation just 
before or right after the Axis of the Intersection, will they still receive the piB call for the Additional Feature? 
Answer 
The basic requirement for the pi in the Senior FS Intersection #2 is that all Skaters must include a movement 
at the axis of Intersection other than the pi rotation. If all Skaters attempt and complete a movement before, 
during or after but close to the Axis of the Intersection, piB will be called. The intent is to have/hold the 
movement as the Skaters pass through the pi axis intersection. 
 
Question #2 
For the Entry Variation(EV) and pi in Intersection #2 (Senior FS); If the 2nd required Skating Movement for the 
EV is done during the approach phase by all Skaters and is held through the Axis of Intersection.  Will both 
the EV and the pi be counted since there is only one movement? 
Answer 
Yes, both the EV and pi will be counted if the movement meets the requirements for the EV and the pi. 
 
Question #3 
If a Team is including a Complex Pattern as the EV for any Intersection, do the movements from the Skating 
Vocabulary have to be done during the approach phase? 
Answer 
No, the movements from the Skating Vocabulary may be done at any time during the Complex Pattern.  The 
movements may be done one after the other, at the same time or done at different times anywhere during the 
Complex Pattern. The key point is that the intersection shape must appear without revealing the type of 
intersection by using excessive crossovers or linking steps to achieve the shape. Also, there must not be any 
unnecessary linking steps or Additional Rotation (Angled, Collapsing) after the shape appears and before 
starting the pi rotations. 
 
Question #4 
If a Team is using a Pivoting Entry for a Collapsing Intersection or Whip, the Entry Variation Feature must be 
completed just before the 90º pivot. Are Teams permitted to pivot more than 90º after the Entry Variation has 
been completed? 
Answer 
ISU Communication 2566 states that if Teams choose to use a Pivoting Entry for their Intersection, the Entry 
All lines must be pivoting, and the EV must be completed just before the 90º pivot begins.  
Teams may not pivot more than 90º after completing the EV.   
If the Pivoting Entry is more than 90º and the EV has been completed too early, then the Feature will not be 
counted.  
If a Team uses a Pivoting Entry but does not include an EV, the amount of pivoting may be more than the 
required minimum of 90º.  
 
Question #4 
If a Team includes Skating Movements option as the EV,  must the Skating Movements be done only during 
the approach phase and close to the pi rotation? 
Answer 
The Skating Movements (SM) must be done as close to the pi rotation as possible.  For most Intersection 
Elements the SM must be executed during the approach phase.  However, for a Collapsing Intersection, a SM 
executed close to the start of the approach phase will be acceptable if there are no unnecessary extra linking 
steps between the last SM and pi rotation. 
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POINT OF INTERSECTION 

Question #1 
How should Teams show the difference between Additional Rotations and the pi rotation? 
In the previous Q&A it is written that the Team must make it clear when the pi rotations begin. 
Answer 
The Additional Rotations could be similar to the pi rotation done through the Axis of the Intersection meaning 
for example the last Additional Rotation of 360º could look the same as a 360º pi rotation.  
If using two 360’s  or one 720º rotation as Additional Rotations then taking a push into a 360º/720º pi rotation 
would be accepted.  
The pi rotation could also be clearly identified if only the pi rotation has the Feature (one foot or an arm)  
 
Question #2.  
Corrections to the Technical Panel Handbook page 10: 

GENERAL ADDITIONAL FEATURE REQUIREMENTS - POINT OF INTERSECTION (pi) 

For the Angled, Two Line, Whip:  
If ALL Skaters ¼ of the Team or more complete 

the pi before OR start the pi after the axis  

piB is called  If all Skaters attempt a pi 
 

For the Collapsing: 

• IF in all corners the Skaters end the first pi 
rotation before intersecting occurs  

• IF in all corners the Skaters begin the first pi 
rotation AFTER intersecting has occurred  

piB is called  

If ¼ of the Team or more doesn’t attempt a pi  Call pi no value Not due to a fall or interruption 

If less than ¼ of the Team doesn’t attempt a pi Lower pi one level Not due to a fall or interruption 

If ¼ of the Team or more execute any of the 

following same OR different type of error(s) during 

a pi (not due to a fall) 

- pi is completed before the axis  

- pi starts after the axis  

- extra pi (including Angled; additional rotations) 

- pi in opposite directions within the same line 

- pauses in pi (not continuous) including additional 

rotations (Angled) 

- A forward push within a backward pi 

- Any part of the pi is executed on the same spot  

- Stopping or becoming stationary 

Lower pi one level for 
each error (same 
type)  
 
OR 
 
Lower pi one level for 
multiple errors made 
by ¼ of the Team or 
more (Called one 
time only if there 
have been no other 
reduction(s))    
 piB will be the lowest 
call if all Skaters 
attempt a pi 

The reduction for multiple errors will only 
be utilized when there have been no 
other reduction(s) 
Extra pi:  
i) More than the permitted degrees of 

rotation for a level  

- If a backward 720º pi rotation  ends 

forwards or vice versa 

ii) More than the permitted number of pi 

- If a Collapsing includes a 3rd pi 

rotation 

Pauses in pi rotations, not 

continuous: 

- That assists Skaters to pass by each 

other or are due to a bump 

 
 

MOVE ELEMENT 

Question #1 
If the Change of Edge Feature and the Change Position Feature are executed one after the other, is it 
necessary for the Skaters to hold the 2nd edge and fm position for 2 seconds before the Change Position? 
Answer 
The first edge + fm position must be held for two seconds.  The Change of Edge occurs and it is permitted for 
the Team to hold the edge/fm position for a shorter time than two seconds before  the Change Position.  
Following the regrasp the edge + fm position must be held for two seconds.   
In Communication 2563 for the Change Position during a fm Feature, there is nothing written requiring the 
same edge must be maintained before and after the Change Position, only requirements are for holds and the 
Skater establishing their own track.  
Also the Technical Handbook only mentions the correct position/edge.  
Therefore, as long as the Skaters have held two seconds in the fm position on an edge before they change 
edge (and position) and then two seconds after they have regrasped, they will have fulfilled both the 
requirements for the Change of Edge and Change Position.  
 
Question #2 
Intersecting and/or Passing-through: If a Team is doing the Change of Rotational Direction Feature when 
they are passing through, is it still counted, even though they are temporarily on two feet (not on any 
edge/any position) while passing through? 
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Answer 
ISU Communication 2563 states that for this Feature, the fm position may disappear if including another 
Feature. Thus, the example above would be permitted.  
 
Question #3 
For ME1 and/or ME2 how many Skaters must be in a correct fm position to achieve the level (considering the 
number of correctly executed Features). 
Answer 
If ¼ of the Team or more do not achieve a correct fm position for ME1 and/or ME2 then MEB is called. 
 
Question #4 
For the Change Position during an fm Feature, it is stated that if “two spaces=4 Skaters” do not regrasp, the 
Feature is not counted. What should the call be of there are two open spaces (no regrasp) but it only concerns 
3 Skaters on a Team of 16, so not ¼ of the Team making an error? 
Answer 
If two spaces are open (not regrasped) but it only involves 3 Skaters on a Team of 16 (=less than ¼ of the 
Team), the Feature is counted. 
 

SYNCHRONIZED SPIN 

Question #1 
The Technical Panel Handbook states on page 14 on the first line: 

If the spin is not in a correct 
simple position (no Features) 

Lower Element one 
level 

If a ¼ of the Team is not in the correct 
position 

However if all Skaters are using the same position then, there is one Feature included. Is this spin + one 
Feature evaluated in the same manner?  
Answer 
If all Skaters are executing the same simple position and the simple position is not correct by ¼ of the Team 
then the Same Spin Feature will not be counted. 
 
Question #2 
The Technical Panel Handbook states on page 14 under the headline “Difficult Position” that if ¼ of the Team 
does not reach a Difficult Position, the Difficult Position Feature is not counted. However, on the next section 
headlined “Same Spin” it states that if all Skaters are attempting a Difficult Position and ½ of the Team 
(number required for the Feature) reach a correct Difficult Position, the Feature is counted (even if the other ½ 
of the Team might not be in a correct Difficult Position). Is this conflicting information in the Technical Panel 
Handbook? 
Answer 
If ½ of the Team achieve a correct Difficult Position, the Feature is counted, regardless of the number of 
Skaters attempting the Difficult Position since there is in this case a correct number of Skaters required for the 
Feature executing a correct Difficult Position. If only ½ of the Team is attempting a Difficult Position and ¼ of 
the Team do not achieve the correct Difficult Position, the Feature is not counted.  


